5 of 60

Goals. They’re such a pain to catch. This year I promised to redeem myself by reaching my personal quota of reading 60 books. The mark was originally set last 2015 but I was able to reach only 41. (You can check my finished list over at Goodreads)

I realized that I was aggressive during the first quarter of 2015, only to start lagging when summer  arrived. I remember it being a stressful time because Ahj and I were trying to organize this writing seminar to be held at the end of April. But hey — excuses, excuses. Let’s do this.

So here I go again, with 60 books as the set goal. Right now I’m done with 5 (with 5 being the ideal number of books to read per month), and I’m trying to finish two more before the end of the month.

Anyways, here are the books from my finished stack:

  • Imagination’s Way (Gemino Abad)
  • Alipato (Benilda Santos)
  • Salamanca (Dean Alfar)
  • Nymph of MTV (Angelo Suarez)
  • The Professor’s Daughter (Joanne Sfar)

My pending list (or books I’ve yet to finish reading):

  • Drone (Allan Popa)
  • Si Crispin (Tony Perez)
  • Quiet (Susan Cain)
  • Literary Theory: An Introduction (Terry Eagleton)
  • How to Read a Poem and Fall in Love with Poetry (Edward Hirsch)
  • Ulysses (James Joyce) [SWEET GEEBUS I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO FINISH THIS]

I also made a resolution to read more stuff written by local authors. Just a while ago I energized myself by getting lost once again in the Filipiniana section of the library. It’s a restricted area, and only staff and faculty members could access the place (much to our convenience). There’s just so many good books on the shelves but unfortunately I think I’m the only one who bothers to go there. Such a shame actually.

2 thoughts on “5 of 60

Leave a Reply

