Riviere, 27 January 2014

01272014

{Soundtracks}

Currently working on something new — I don’t know if I should transpose this into prose or poetry (or both). But I would like to have my work be embedded with this texture:

By the way, Saturday Night Wrist is just way underrated. As I listen to some of its tracks, I’ve just realized how certain songs have helped me carry on while I was still working in the Metro, especially during my Ortigas and Makati days. Cherry Waves will always be that special Deftones track for me (on that particular timeline at least).

{Bonus Tracks; Something I Dug Up}

Well, well, well. Lookee here. I’ve somehow unearthed this from one of my old folders. It’s a blog entry for my Facebook or Posterous account (can’t really remember). Reposting for memories:

Play It Again, Sam… (Soundtrack of My Life)

Music has always been a big part of my sorry existence. Though I can’t play a single instrument to save my life (I can’t even sing), the least I can do is to enjoy it. I’ve always been receptive to various tunes, some I’ve loved till this very day, while some, well, are best left forgotten in a hidden stash buried beneath my brain.

Speaking of memories, I usually associate certain timelines of my life with music. Perhaps my inner radio has also accidentally captured some elements present when the song has been played. Whenever I hear a familiar tune on the radio, the very first thing that comes to mind are objects, senses and/or events connected with it. For example, whenever I hear The Bee Gees’s “Alone Again, Naturally” I instantly remember my time working at AdMU’s ORP plus other things connected to that specific area such as the smell of books on the shelves, the humming of the air-conditioner, the window showing the zen garden, the mundane afternoons, the crazy dilemmas, and whatnot.

Music then becomes a time capsule, recording my life’s soundtrack.

So if ever someone is going to make a movie about me, I have here a list of appropriate songs for the film’s soundtrack (Song Title – Artist):

Timeline: High School Life a.k.a. Nu Metal Daze (Head Banging Till Curfew)
Good God – Korn
Wait and Bleed – Slipknot
Rearranged – Limp Bizkit
Toxicity – System of A Down
Sunshower – Chris Cornell
Death Blooms – Mudvayne
Guerilla Radio – Rage Against The Machine
Social Enemies – Orgy
Stellar – Incubus
Deftones – Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)
Last Resort – Papa Roach

Timeline: College Years a.k.a. Angst and Beer (Drunk, Dreamy and Damned)
Standing on the Edge of Summer – Thursday
Middle of Nowhere – Hot Hot Heat
Tulips – Bloc Party
3 Libras – A Perfect Circle
I’ll Be Here Awhile – 311
Glory Box – Portishead
Helena – My Chemical Romance
In This Diary – The Ataris
Blue and Yellow – The Used
Evil – Interpol
Elise – The Cure
This is Your Life – Tyler Durden’s Collection of Provers (Fight Club Soundtrack)

Timeline: Makati Life a.k.a. Yuppiehood (A Day in the Life of a Lemming)
Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees
Placebo – Running Up That Hill
Six Days – DJ Shadow (feat. Mos Def)
Surfacing – Estrela
My Favorite Accident – Motion City Soundtrack
Ever – Team Sleep
Goodbye – Toe
Steve Aoki – When Did Your Heart Go Missing
Guillotine – Urbandub
1979 – Smashing Pumpkins
Y Control – The Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Le Vie en Rose – Edith Piaf
As Time Goes By – Frank Sinatra

Timeline: Present a.k.a. What Now? (Quarter life Crisis)
Fallen Snow – Au Revoir Simone
Your Ex-Lover is Now Dead – Stars
Vicarious – Tool
Your Universe – Rico Blanco
Jeremy – Pearl Jam
Kara’s Coordinates – Bear McCreary
Arise – E.S. Posthumus
Turn Turn Turn – The Byrds
Dawn Metropolis – Anamanaguchi

(Note: Any song from The Beatles can be put in any timeline. All their tunes are made of win.)

Well, that’s it so far. What about you? What’s the soundtrack of your life?

Leave a Reply

